Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development

What is Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development?

Erikson’s 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development Erikson’s psychosocial stages of development target the resolution of various crises. So it become a successful, complete person. Additionally Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!
  1. During each of Erikson’s eight development stages.
  2. Two conflicting ideas resolved successfully so as for an individual. Therefore to become a confident, contributing member of society.
  3. Failure to master, So these tasks results in feelings of inadequacy.
  4. Erikson’s eight stages of psychosocial development include also:-
  • Trust vs. mistrust,
  • Autonomy vs. shame/doubt,
  • Initiative vs. guilt,
  • Industry vs. inferiority,
  • Identity vs. role confusion,
  • Intimacy vs. isolation,
  • Generativity vs. stagnation,
  • Integrity vs. despair.


Erikson’s Theory

Erik Erikson (1902–1994) a stage theorist. Who took Freud’s controversial theory of development and modified. Additionally it as a psychosocial theory. As well During each of Erikson’s eight stages. There a psychological conflict. That got to be successfully overcome so as for a toddler to turn into a healthy. As well-adjusted adult. Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development.

8 stages of psychosocial development by erik erikson

Erik Erikson Erikson developed his eight stages of psychosocial development supported Freud’s psychosexual theory. furthermore Stages Of Psychosocial Development Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development supported (and expand upon) Freud’s psychosexual theory. Hence Erikson proposed, that we motivated by the requirement to attain competence in certain areas of our lives.

A Crisis or Task

Furthermore at each stage there crisis or task that we like to resolve. Successful completion of every developmental task ends up in a way of competence. And a healthy personality. Failure to master these tasks results in feelings of inadequacy. Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development.

Erikson also added to Freud’s stages by discussing. As well the cultural implications of development. Besides certain cultures have to resolve the stages in numerous ways based upon their cultural and survival needs. Besides Trust vs. Mistrust From birth to 12 months old. So infants learn that adults often trusted. As well this happens when adults meet a child’s basic needs for survival.

Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt

So If infants treated cruelly or their needs don’t seem to be met appropriately. Hence they going to likely mature with a way of mistrust for people within the world. So Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt As toddlers (ages 1–3 years) begin to explore their world. And they learn that they will control their actions.  And act on their environment to urge results. Further they start to indicate clear preferences sure enough elements of the environment, like food, toys, and clothing.


Therefore a toddler main task  to resolve the problem of autonomy vs. shame and doubt by working to ascertain independence. So this often the “me do it” stage.  As an example, we observe a budding sense of autonomy in a very 2-year-old child. So who wants to settle on her clothes and dress herself. Although her outfits won’t be appropriate for matters, her input in such basic decisions has a bearing on her sense of independence.


Ambition and Responsibility

Initiative, a way of ambition and responsibility, occurs when parents allow a toddler to explore within limits then support the child’s choice. So These children develop self-confidence and feel a way of purpose. Furthermore people who  unsuccessful at this stage with their initiative misfiring or stifled by over-controlling. Hence  parents develop feelings of guilt. So Industry vs. Inferiority During the grammar school stage (ages 6–12), children face the task of industry vs. inferiority.

Children begin to match themselves with their peers to determine. Additionally, how they suffice. They either develop a way of pride and accomplishment in their schoolwork, sports, social activities, and family life.  Furthermore they feel inferior and inadequate. Because they feel that they don’t suffice.  So If children don’t learn to induce together with others or have negative experiences reception or with peers, an complex might grow to be adolescence and adulthood.


Identity vs. Role Confusion

Per Erikson, an adolescent’s main task is developing a way of self. Adolescents struggle with questions like “Who am I?” and “What do I would like to try and do with my life?

Therefore When adolescents apathetic, don’t make a conscious look for identity. So pressured to adapt to their parents’ ideas for the longer term. So they develop a weak sense of self and skill role confusion. And they going to be unsure of their identity and confused about the long run.


Generativity vs. Stagnation

So after we developed a way of self in adolescence. Hence we able to share our life with others. However, if other stages hardly successfully resolved. Hence young adults have trouble developing and maintaining successful relationships with others. Therefore Erikson said that we must have a robust sense of self. So  before we able to develop successful intimate relationships. Hence adults who don’t develop a positive self-concept in adolescence. So it experience feelings of loneliness and emotional isolation.


Meaningful and Productive Work

Therefore during this stage, middle-aged adults begin contributing to the following generation. So often through childbirth and caring for others. Hence they also engage in meaningful and productive work which contributes positively to society. people who don’t master this task may experience stagnation and feel as if they’re not leaving a mark on the planet during a meaningful way. And they have little reference to others.  And tiny interest in productivity and self-improvement.


Integrity vs. Despair

The mid-60s to the top of life. So we within the period of development referred to as late adulthood.  Erikson’s task at this stage termed integrity vs. despair. Hence He said that individuals in late adulthood reflect on their lives and feel either a way of satisfaction or a way of failure. folks that feel pleased with their accomplishments feel a way of integrity, and that they can recall on their lives with few regrets. However, those who aren’t successful at this stage may feel as if their life has been wasted.

Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development, erikson’s stages of psychosocial development, erikson psychosocial stages of development,